JavaScript is either disabled or not supported by your browser !
Download app for Android
Download app for iOS
powered by Ulverscroft Digital

True North

eBook
A great web of interconnecting sagas' - The Scotsman 'True North is a wonder-voyage - an immrama - out into the landscape of the northern regions, but also into the mindscape of those many travellers who have been drawn irresistibly northwards over the millennia. Fluent, subtle, tough and often beautiful, True North stands alongside Peter Davidson's The Idea of North and Joanna Kavenna's The Ice Museum as a significant recent addition to the Arctic canon' - Robert Macfarlane 'A deep empathy with the land and its history runs like a golden thread through every chapter of True North.' - Sara Wheeler, The Spectator Gavin Francis is an accomplished teller of traveller's tales. His nuanced, often witty, observations of the people and places he encounters mean True North really gets under the skin of Europe's magical north' - Sunday Herald The stark, vast beauty of the remote Arctic Europe landscape has been the focus of human exploration for thousands of years. In this striking blend of travel writing, history and mythology, Gavin Francis offers a unique portrait of the northern fringes of Europe. His journey begins in the Shetland Isles, takes him to the Faroes, Iceland, Greenland, Svalbard and on to Lapland. Following in the footsteps of the region's early pioneers, Francis observes how the region has adapted to the 21st century, giving an observed insight into the lives of people he encounters along the way. As with all the best travel writing, "True North" is an engaging, compassionate tale of self-discovery, whilst blending historical and contemporary narratives in the tradition of Bruce Chatwin and Robert Macfarlane.


  • Published by eBooks Birlinn
  • Fiction/Non-FictionNon Fiction
  • Genre Travel
  • Target Audience Adult
  • Released 1st July 2011
  • Pages 344
  • ISBN 9780857901101

More in this genre

Travel

More by this author

Gavin Francis

More about...
Gavin Francis
Author
Gavin Francis qualified in medicine from Edinburgh in 1999, then spent ten years travelling, visiting all seven continents. He is the author of three books: True North, Travels in Arctic Europe (2008... more